Town Departments banner graphic

Police Department /  Administration

Police Administration

John C. Askey – Chief
Chief of Police
(716) 689-1311

Charles Cohen – Assistant Chief of Police
Assistant Chief of Police
(716) 689-1311

James McNamara – Captain
Patrol Division Day Platoon
(716) 689-1311

Stephen J. McGonagle – Captain
Patrol Division Afternoon Platoon
(716) 689-1311

Christopher T. Meyer – Captain
Patrol Division Night Platoon
(716) 689-1311

Michael J. Camilleri – Captain
Administration Services
(716) 689-1311

Kevin C. Brown – Captain
Traffic Bureau
(716) 689-1311

Scott P. Chamberlin – Captain
Investigative Services
(716) 689-1311

Thomas J. Maier – Captain
Technical Services
(716) 689-1311

About Amherst

The Town of Amherst was established in 1818 and celebrated its 200th Anniversary in 2018. The town has a geographical area of 53.6 square miles and a population of greater than 122,000.

Disclaimer, Copyright and Maintenance
How to use our site

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The Town of Amherst ADA Coordinators are Robert McCarthy (Director of Human Resources) and Mark Berke (Commissioner of Buildings).

Click for more information about ADA.

Website Contact

The Town of Amherst takes great pride in providing useful, timely and accurate information through its official website. We encourage public participation in our website and ask that you provide your feedback to help us make our site even better. Contact the website administrator at

Get in Touch

  • General Information:
    (716) 631-7000
  • Email:
  • Address:
    Municipal Building (Town Hall)
  • 5583 Main Street
  • Williamsville, NY 14221