Boards and Committees banner graphic

Recycling and Waste Committee

Meeting Dates

Wed., January  24, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., February  21, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., March  20, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., April  17, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., May  15, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., June  26, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., July  17, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., August  21, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., September  18, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., October  16, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., November  20, 2024,  07:00 PM

Wed., December  18, 2024,  07:00 PM

Meeting Location

Amherst Municipal Building
5583 Main St, Williamsville, NY 14221

To verify, please call (716) 631-7013.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Solid Waste Committee shall be to advise the Town Board on all aspects of municipal solid waste affecting the Town of Amherst and to monitor, make recommendations regarding the Town’s activities relating to environmental issues which affect or impact the residents of the Town of Amherst.

The committee shall also investigate methods of recycling, waste stream reduction, household hazardous waste collection and consider new technologies for handling municipal solid waste.

The Committee shall be comprised of representatives from local government, Engineering, Refuse Control, Highway, Compost and the Wastewater Treatment Plant, as well as appointed residents from the Town of Amherst who have an interest in preserving the environmental quality of life in the Town.

The Committee shall strive to take an integrated approach to addressing waste management issues through educational opportunities while balancing the concerns of all of the stakeholders.

Supplemental Information

There is no Supplemental Information for this board or committee.

Disclosure Information


Michael Szukala, Councilmember


John Szalasny (V)  term expires  12/31/2025

Diana Anderson (M)  term expires  12/31/2024

John Hannon (M)  term expires  12/31/2025

Judy Hendee (M)  term expires  12/31/2025

Donald J. Kuhn (M)  term expires  12/31/2024

Eustace Mendez (M)  term expires  12/31/2026

Jean  Neff (M)  term expires  12/31/2024

Megan Reddish (M)  term expires  12/31/2025

Steven Floss (O)

Don Willert (O)


(C) Chairperson
(CC) Co-Chairperson
(M) Member
(O) Resource Person
(S) Secretary
(V) Vice Chairperson

About Amherst

The Town of Amherst was established in 1818 and celebrated its 200th Anniversary in 2018. The town has a geographical area of 53.6 square miles and a population of greater than 122,000.

Disclaimer, Copyright and Maintenance
How to use our site

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The Town of Amherst ADA Coordinators are Robert McCarthy (Director of Human Resources) and Mark Berke (Commissioner of Buildings).

Click for more information about ADA.

Website Contact

The Town of Amherst takes great pride in providing useful, timely and accurate information through its official website. We encourage public participation in our website and ask that you provide your feedback to help us make our site even better. Contact the website administrator at

Get in Touch

  • General Information:
    (716) 631-7000
  • Email:
  • Address:
    Municipal Building (Town Hall)
  • 5583 Main Street
  • Williamsville, NY 14221